OPINION and ADVICE

Tim Ferriss Is Reading No New Books in 2020

Why We All Need to Go Our Own Way

Susan Brearley
Garden of Neuro
Published in
4 min readFeb 15, 2020

--

From the author’s smart phone

Up until 2019, I didn’t even know who Tim Ferriss was.

When I asked someone about him, they were surprised. Rightfully so, since I now know he is the author of the book, The Four Hour Work Week.

Wouldn’t everyone know about that book? It was a New York Times Bestseller, after all.

But you see, for the past 40 years, I’ve been raising children. I also had an engaging full career with IBM, as well as having built my own online business as an entrepreneur.

Throughout my youth and young adulthood, people called me The Bookworm.

That all changed once I became a mother and started on my career.

I found very little time for non-topical reading. I was immersed in technical manuals, and the occasional parenting advice book. And trying to get as much sleep as possible during this period of my life where I was playing full out. Playing at being a great parent, and being a great professional.

Self improvement wasn’t so much reading about how to improve, but by being engaged in the actual process day by day. I did my own life vagabonding.

--

--

Susan Brearley
Garden of Neuro

Writing on Medium since 2016. Boost Nominator, EIC (8 publications), Entrepreneur, Coach, IMBA Community Leader, NGO Founder. https://linktr.ee/SusanBrearley