Poetry

To Be A Rose in War

A poem about the pain of living with hidradenitis suppurativa

Tiana H
Garden of Neuro

--

A black woman with black curly hair containing flowers. She is wearing a cast and has a rose growing out of her arm
Generated by Starry AI Application

The tears I have surrendered to this war

Could water the garden in me.

Oh, how I’d love to collapse

In the middle of this battlefield,

Patch the pain with

A seed offering

To the God of healing.

Be granted three wishes

1

To be freed from the hurt caused by the things I never wished for.

2

To love on the parts of me I could have never planned for.

3

A key to open even a window to heaven,

to speak to God

to ask him what I did to deserve this chronic pain

To tell him this isn’t the task I thought he’d give me

Even if he thought I was one of his strongest soldiers.

Wounds still tender

Raw flesh ripened by the heat of the sun

Active skin regeneration

Shooting pain in left arm

Red, black, and blue scar on right

And I wonder would he even listen?

What value could this sprout have?

Could he still see it for the beautiful flower it would become?

Encourage the fight in me

to be strong in the face of all the things

I thought I couldn’t handle.

Tell me to speak for the wilted flowers

That are just like me?

To nourish them with the rainwater

I’ve collected on my return to base

Would I even be able to do it?

Bring Your Words

--

--