An Acrostic Essay

Vegetables

A Gardening Journey

Alice Taylor CVACC
Garden of Neuro
Published in
3 min readJun 17, 2022

--

Used with permission by Social Curator

Even scanning my memory for almost twenty minutes brings up almost nothing for me. Do I write about something that happened as a child, a teenager, an adult? Do I write about vegetables specifically or how I felt about them? Do I write about how I cooked them? The ones I liked? The ones I didn’t like? Maybe I should just write and see what appears on the page.

Gardening has always been a favourite thing for me to spend my time doing. I’ve grown vegetable gardens of all sizes, from four feet by four feet raised bed gardens, to very large gardens which I would guess to be about fifteen feet by thirty feet in size.

Every garden had challenges, some stressful, and others somehow calming and peaceful. Almost every garden had a bountiful crop of vegetables by the time fall rolled around.

Tilling and preparing the garden each year was quite easy to do. Especially since my husband generously took on the rototilling task. I did try to do the rototilling once. I’m sure if anyone had been watching they would have chuckled at me as the rototiller took me where it wanted to go. I wasn’t strong enough to do anything other than try to hold on. I never seemed to be quick-minded mechanically to think of turning it off. I’m the same way with the garden tractor. But that’s a story…

--

--

Alice Taylor CVACC
Garden of Neuro

Writes memoir based on childhood trauma, grief, and life experiences, sprinkled with writing perspectives. Passionate about coaching memoir, life, and learning!