First Harvest

Elizabeth Rosselle
Garden Variety Wisdom
3 min readOct 1, 2020

It took about five months, from seed to fruit, before my garden started to bear anything edible. I had no idea what would make its way out of the dirt when I started my little green patch at my Bali abode during a brief lockdown (à la COVID-19).

When my teeny sproutlings first started cropping up, I have to admit I was surprised. I love plants, but I’ve never been much of a gardener. I’ve killed a lot more plants than I’ve managed to keep alive, including cacti. But there’s not much else to do when you’re confined to your home for an unforeseen amount of time.

To be fair, Bali’s lockdown measures weren’t very strict, but the beaches were off-limits to the public for two months and many businesses were closed. So, without many cafes open and the ocean pretty much a no-go, why not try to grow a green thumb?

Starting a garden when you’re a notorious plant killer (notorious in my mind, plant killer in reality) is a little intimidating. Beginning from seeds is even more intimidating. It also requires loads of patience which is something I’ve historically not had much of. I’m an addict. I like instant gratification and there’s nothing instant about a garden. Growing herbs and veggies from scratch felt like a bold move for a girl like me, but I like a good challenge.

My garden teaches me things. It teaches me patience. It teaches me how to be a nurturer and to really fight for the lives of the little hangers-on. It helps me to appreciate that growth doesn’t happen overnight–not for plants and not for people, physically or spiritually. It’s helped to really drive home the idea for me that all living, breathing things need love and care to survive and thrive. And while this might all sound a little sappy, the gardening thing really has been a hotbed for my growth (puns intended).

Life here is somewhat back to normal and has been for the past several months, aside from international flights not really being allowed in since March. It’s quiet, but I can go out to eat, I can surf, and I can socialize responsibly. And I still tend to my garden every day because I actually get excited about it. I even brought part of it with me when I recently moved house, and I gave the rest to my Balinese neighbor, Agus, who helped me get it started. Like a lot of the Balinese, Agus was raised on a farm so he knew a lot about growing stuff. He’s also just a really groovy human being, so it was a treat to have his guidance along the way.

I think I lost about 25% of my tiny little crop from the seeds that sprouted, but the rest have survived and some are even starting to bear fruit. So far, I’ve got cherry tomatoes growing everywhere and a few sunflowers have bloomed. Not bad for a plant murderer. I also met and fell in love with a man who now loves my plants almost as much as I do, and this all happened over the past five months. Maybe there’s something to this gardening thing.

If you’re thinking about starting a garden of your own but you’re intimidated by the prospect, I say go for it. Find someone with a green thumb who knows a thing or two about gardening and enlist their help. And don’t rush the process. Start at least part of your garden from actual seeds. I’m telling you, it’s one of the most gratifying things you’ll ever do.

Okay, it’s a garden, but don’t underestimate its mundane significance (or its significant mundanity?). Ripe with life, love, and metaphors, my quaint and cheerful garden makes my little world just that much happier. I hope yours does, too. Check back soon for some easy growth hacks. And happy harvesting!

--

--