Broccoli Plants Planted

After being “hardened off” and sugar snap peas and other seeds

K. Barrett
Gardening, Birding, and Outdoor Adventure

--

Broccoli, Photos, K.Barrett, author

Arrival

I thought I planned ahead this season but I was still a little late. The Burpee Burgundy broccoli seeds I wanted were out of stock, they only had plants. I was a little worried about shipping. But, the seedlings arrived in a cardboard box mailer. Very safe and well packaged.

Broccoli is in the cold crop family so it can be planted before the frost is for sure, for sure, gone. Where I live the last frost is supposed to be April 15th. So, the time is right. Burpee times their deliveries for growing regions so I think I am safe to plant now.

I planned on just jumping right in and planting the seedlings. I have never heard of “hardening off”. It makes great sense, let the plants acclimate like you do hardwood flooring before installing. I placed my plants outside for the daytime and brought them in at night. (I am sure this is something I should have heard of before!)

“Harding off” toughens the plan’s cell structure and reduce transplant shock and scalding. Burpee

I planted them a little closer than what is recommended. My space is limited. I hope my crop isn’t! I can’t wait to see the tight firm purple buds ready to harvest! The expected harvest is in 50–60 days.

--

--

K. Barrett
Gardening, Birding, and Outdoor Adventure

Awe ambassador. Nature and travel photographer. Also, an educator, mom, wife, daughter, sister, and friend. Sharing the power of awe with the world.