OUTDOORS

I Spent A Few Minutes Exploring the Bonneville Salt Flats

On the border of Utah and Nevada

Kim Zuch
Gardening, Birding, and Outdoor Adventure
5 min readJun 19, 2023

--

Salt Flats. Photo by Kim Zuch.

The open space was awesome and I needed it after so much time in the car.

I was on my way home to Nevada after a quick trip to Utah for a Celebration of Life. I’d planned to split the twelve-hour drive into two days by staying at a friend’s house in Elko, Nevada. I was on my way there when I pulled over at a rest stop outside of Wendover, Utah.

The freeway is in the distance. Photo by Kim Zuch.

The town of Wendover is located on the Utah/Nevada border. I usually stop there for food and gas before getting back on the road. This time, I didn’t need anything from town, so I stopped at a rest area on the Utah side. I was only planning on stopping long enough to grab some water from the back seat of my car and use the restroom, but then I looked out toward the Salt Flats and changed my mind.

Photo by Kim Zuch.

--

--

Kim Zuch
Gardening, Birding, and Outdoor Adventure

I write about nature, birdwatching, the outdoors, and conservation issues. I like to share pictures and sometimes my dogs show up. Twitter: @kimclawson2