Plant identification

Mistress Mary, Quite Contrary How Does Your Garden Grow?

Meet Musk Mallow, Holly Hocks Shorter Cousin

--

Photo by author

musk mallow plant (Malva moschata)

This beautiful plant was shining in the sun next to me as I was weeding and hilling the Red Noland Potatoes. I wasn’t familiar with this plant. I got my new iPhone out to identify it. I recently switched from Android to iPhone. I discover daily yet another item that did not transfer platforms. Today, I discovered my plant identification app didn’t make the trip.

The need to know overwhelmed the need to weed. I sat in the dirt looking up the trail of hints I left on the phone for my passcode. Without the dang passcode, I couldn’t get the app.Luckily I could decode my hints and get the app I wanted. I took the photo and instantly the app suggested this plant is a musk mallow plant (Malva moschata).

I returned to weeding and hilling the potatoes. Just as I finished the row my helper decided she was done so we went inside for a sunshine break.

Photo by author. She is a Tennessee Walker Hound

--

--

Carolyn F. Chryst, Ph.D.
Gardening, Birding, and Outdoor Adventure

An eclectic life: Waitress, Actress, Zoo Curator, Story Teller, Poet, Exhibit Designer, Writer, Farmer, Educator & Survivor .. Writing, essential as breathing.