weet-weet-weets and wee-wee-wees

A small water bird is calling

Zuzanna Żak
Gardening, Birding, and Outdoor Adventure

--

I visited old fish ponds in Milicz, Poland during the weekend of the summer solstice. Those ponds were created to breed carps by cistersians in XIII century and to this day they are the largest area of this type. This area is also an important bird reserve, officially treated as such since 1963.

I made so many bird recordings during those 2 days that I was still processing and analyzing them 3 months later.

Tachybaptus ruficollis chick by Agustín Povedano

Mission: fancy ducks

I wasn’t lucky with spotting fancy (other than mallard) ducks during that time. I was hoping to see an eurasian teal, wigeon or at least a gadwall.

But no.

It was Sunday morning, already unbearably hot and I was slowly coming back from a field recording walk for some breakfast. I was slowly loosing hope of seeing new water birds during that weekend.

Don’t get me wrong — I saw a lot of birds for the first time during that weekend. Different types of warblers, one very social white-tailed eagle, and many more.

But not much of the birds that swim and wade.

I can hear you, but I can’t see you!

--

--