Eat Your Weeds

David Cohn
Gardening - Kicks Ass
2 min readMar 19, 2013

--

Since moving to Berkeley, California, I’ve found a new hobby - gardening. In addition to just getting your hands dirty, it teaches you about the world, doing things with your hands, and hey - it tastes good too. There are lots of things to discuss aside from the obvious in gardening. Sure - there is planting season and tips/tricks for the plants themselves. But what interests me more are the side battles. Weeds, composting, worm composting, irrigation, fighting slugs and more.

Today’s lesson: Identify your edible weeds.

First off: Consult a local expert before putting anything in your mouth. But the image above shows wild radish leaves. These are edible. Even raw - although they are a bit rough and can cause some stomach pains for the weak (nothing fatal). Cooking is advised in which case - it should be perfectly fine for anyone without allergies.

Not shown: The flower. The wild radish flower is “cute.” It’s a classic cross-shape and can come in a variety of colors. The ones in my backyard are typically yellow or purple.

Also not shown are the seeds: These can also be eaten raw or cooked. They look like peas in a pod. If you enjoy the wold radish - harvest those seeds as the pod starts to dry out and re-plant.

Finally, of course, is the radish itself. Store bought radishes are bulb shaped. Wild radish tend to have a more carrot or root like shape. The outer layer is not edible. You want to peel it off. But underneath - you’ll find a class radish taste. Excellent as a side to any taco-truck meal.

Wild radish often hybridize with wild mustards in which case the leaves may look a little different.

Last year around this time - I didn’t realize the roots I was picking out of my yard were radish. I probably threw away 25+ pounds of radish (just the root part).

This year - I am still weeding and pulling out the majority (by definition weeds are plants you don’t want). But I am also saving a few of them. I will let them come to full growth, seed and then….. I’ll put my weeds where my mouth is.

Other edible weeds in my yard: Sorrel (have tried - will write for a future post) and Geranium (haven’t tried - but expect a post in the future).

Next adventure in gardening: Creating a death trap for snails….. using beer!

--

--