Gary Lee
Gary’s Blog
Published in
4 min readJun 3, 2020

--

A reflection:

When confronted horrific events in history and in present times we often could never imagine how anyone could ever do such a thing, or be complicit and stand by and do nothing when something could have been done. We cast ourselves as the “good guy” in our mind’s eye, thinking about how we would have done the right thing.

I think that’s a mistake. I think it’s more proper to cast yourself as the perpetrator. To realize that in the ultimate sense there are no “good” people. I, like you, am completely capable of every evil we see in the world and throughout history. Along with our cry for justice, our outrage, and our deep sorrow, we desperately need to look inwardly at our own darkness.

This is one of the reasons I believe Christianity is true. We know that there’s a way the world ought to be. And we know that it isn’t that way. This is what we mean by “progress” …moving toward the way the world ought to be. The way it should be. The way it is supposed to be.

For this to be the case there must be an absolute moral standard outside ourselves to whom we are accountable and will be judged by. If not, there ultimately are no such things as justice, right, wrong, should, ought, improve, duty, responsibility, or meaning. What’s “right” is washed away in a sea of subjectivity, opinion, and fad.

We all are guilty and all deserve judgement…..hell.

Man, I don’t like that. I really hate typing those words.

Judgement….Hell. Judgement….I hate that there’s judgement.

Well, actually, I only hate it when it’s directed at me. But, I long for it when I see injustices that don’t involve me. I long for justice when a police officer, sworn to protect and serve, kneels on the neck of an unarmed man for 8 min and suffocates him to death while his fellow officers do absolutely nothing.

But am I in danger of judgement? No, couldn’t be. I have good reasons for he wrong that I do. [sarcasm in case you missed it]

I recently heard this quote: “if the idea of judgement bothers you, which side of the law does that put you on? The innocent have nothing to fear from judgement.”

This is the “bad news”. We’re not innocent. And If you have ever had trouble understanding (as I have) why Christians talk about a savior or what being “saved” means what your being saved from, this is it.

God is the very definition of goodness and justice. All evil must be punished. And that’s what makes this next part so profoundly and utterly amazing…..the good news.

God is abounding in mercy, grace, and forgiveness. He loves you. He cares for you. He wants good things for you. He wants to comfort you. Did I mention He loves you? He loves you more than any person ever could. He loves you so much so that that even though we stand guilty before Him he offers us forgiveness, salvation, eternal life, and makes us new creatures who love and do what is good, just, and right.

But there’s a problem. Justice and mercy come at the expense of one another. You can’t have both at 100%. God’s answer to this is in the person of Jesus Christ. God came to earth in the person of Jesus and lived a perfect, sinless life, and purchased our freedom by taking the punishment upon himself that we deserved. He paid our fine and legally we are able to walk free. He allowed himself to be crucified by the very people He was saving. And then he rose from the dead defeating death itself.

Really? Do people actually believe that? Rose from the dead? I sometimes can’t believe that I believe it. But I do believe it. And I’d love to talk to you about why I do if you ever want to.

In becoming a Christian there is no promise here on earth of health, wealth, material prosperity, or an easy life. Run away from anyone who claims otherwise. In fact you’ll likely be mocked and many people will think you’re a fool.

But Christ is worth it. You are so precious to God. You are of infinite value to Him. You matter so much to Him. The gift of salvation, forgiveness, a new heart, healing, hope, meaning, purpose, and eternal life where every tear is wiped away is what He offers to anyone who wants it… it’s offered to anyone who acknowledges and turns from the wrong he or she has done and places their trust in Jesus and not in themselves for their goodness.

I was (am?) so scared and nervous to share this post. Because I know that many will read it and think I’m a fool. And I don’t enjoy being called a fool. Also, no one wants to look inside at the darkness within themselves, myself included.

But I felt compelled to share it after seeing so much hate, anger, and racism. Only God can change hearts and so this seemed like the best use of my voice, time, and energy.

To my black brothers and sisters who are hurting, I love you, and I’m so sorry for the racism that so so many of you have experienced. You deserve better. And I have no idea what it’s like to be in your shoes. You matter so much more than any slogan could could ever communicate. You are made in the image of God and therefore are of infinite

worth. I love you and I’m praying for you.

And if anyone would like to talk about anything in this post or anything else or needs prayer or wants to become a Christian I’m here for you 760–608–1737. Gary

--

--