Does Anyone Else Think The Matrix Is… Kinda Cool?

by Neo

Neo
Gawken
2 min readOct 23, 2016

--

If you know me personally, you know that I spend most of my time plugged into the Matrix, the virtual reality created by the machines to enslave the human race. As the “Chosen One,” it is my job to find a way to save humanity from the Matrix. I get that, I understand that.

But after travelling around in it for a few years now, even I have to admit: the Matrix? Kinda cool if you ask me!

Anyone else feel the same way?

In the Matrix, you can do stunts, shoot bad guys, fly to the moon—anything you want. And after that, you can grab a messy meatball hoagie from Sally’s, sit on a rooftop and watch the sun set over the city.

If you ask me, that sounds like a pretty perfect day.

We all know that the Matrix is the greatest crime ever perpetrated against humanity. But did you also know that all of your favourite restaurants and stores are in the Matrix? Chipotle, Amazon and Starbucks, they’re all in there.

And also, Greece. You can go to Greece when you’re in the Matrix!

Last week I spent an entire afternoon in the Matrix touring through the breathtaking Zagori region of Greece, tasting wine made from the rare Vlahiko grape, after which I enjoyed a delicious dinner of roasted lamb in a small roadside tavern.

The Matrix is slavery, there’s no question about that. But plugging into the Matrix can also be a great way to get out of your comfort zone.

It changes you, broadens your horizons, and teaches you the value of taking the path less travelled. You just have to know where to go and what to do.

The Matrix will open itself up to you, as long as you approach it with an open mind. I realized this yesterday, as I was lying on a tropical beach in the Matrix, drinking a fancy cocktail and soaking up some rays.

If I’m being truly honest? If you approach it right, the Matrix can be paradise.

Just my two cents!

Twitter is a cesspool of journalism and name-calling. Please follow us on Facebook instead.

--

--