I Really Like Our Logo

by Cook

Cook
Gawken
2 min readSep 21, 2016

--

Dear Apple employees, shareholders and customers,

This is an exciting time for Apple. With the release of the new iPhone, the success of Apple Music, and a slew of groundbreaking new projects in the works, I truly believe there has never been a more interesting time to work at this company. But I want to set that aside for a moment to talk about something that’s been on my mind for a long time now.

I really like our logo.

If you’ve got an Apple product handy, take it out and look at it right now. Do you see the logo? Isn’t it great?

Let me explain why I’m so obsessed with this neat little symbol.

For one, it fits perfectly with Apple’s philosophy and style. It’s simple, but it’s also got loads of personality and charm. And let’s face it, at the end of the day, it’s just drop dead gorgeous. Have you seen the curves on that thing?

But maybe my favourite thing about our logo is that it’s an apple.

Every time I look at it I wonder, who took a bite?

I think of the crunch and tangy sweetness of a cool apple on a humid summer afternoon. I think, what did we get all these apples for? Are we making apple pie? What did that bite taste like? I bet it was delicious.

This morning, as a little test for myself, I tried to see whether I could draw the Apple logo from memory. Here’s what I came up with:

Not bad, huh? Apple’s brand is instantly recognizable around the world, and I think a large part of that success comes from our logo.

I’ve developed my own nickname for the logo. I call it ‘the little apple.’ You’ll probably hear a lot more from me about the little apple in the coming months.

By the way, do you guys mind if I start using this thing more? I mean mainly on internal documents, emails, presentations, etc. You’ll notice that this morning’s email briefing had four little apples in it. That was my idea.

I should say, I am no guru when it comes to graphic design. All I’m trying to say is, we’ve got a great logo.

Best,

Cook

--

--