Is There A Muslim Silicon Valley? I Didn’t Think So

by Dawkins

Dawkins
Gawken
2 min readSep 19, 2016

--

If you are looking for an example of the power of scientific, rational thinking, look no further than Silicon Valley, where many of the world’s smartest people are tackling humanity’s biggest problems using science. The success of Silicon Valley’s technology companies over the last decade should reassure anyone that the spirit of scientific inquiry is alive and well in our modern world, and that the future of humanity is in good hands.

But more than anything else, it should make us ask: is there a Muslim Silicon Valley?

No, there isn’t. Just as I suspected.

When I visited Silicon Valley earlier this year for a book tour, I had the privilege of taking a tour through the top secret engineering facility of a large (unnamed) technology company. There I was shown the latest iteration of that company’s virtual reality headset—a device that produced a visual experience so rich and crisp that I could not distinguish it from reality.

As I wore the goggles, however, the only thought that passed through my head was: are there Muslim virtual reality goggles? No, there aren’t any.

Later that week, while I was addressing an audience of students at the University of California, Berkeley about the importance of scientific education, all I could think about was: is there a Muslim University of California, Berkeley? No, there isn’t. Just as I thought.

Later that day, I found myself standing in line at an ice cream shop behind two technology workers. One of them introduced themselves as an employee from Snapchat, and the other from Microsoft.

“Is there a Muslim Snapchat?” I said to the employe suddenly, not meaning to ask the question out loud, but very interested in the answer all the same.

“How about a Muslim Xbox 360? Are there any of those?” I said to the Microsoft employee.

Neither of them could muster a response. Interesting.

Since returning from Silicon Valley, I have developed a habit of asking people whether or not there is a Muslim version of the gadget they’re using, and the question almost always results in stunned silence. Curious, isn’t it?

So I ask you, reader: is there a Muslim YikYak? Or a Muslim Game Boy Advance? Or how about a Muslim Breville Smart Kettle? No. I didn’t think so.

Follow Gawken on Facebook here!

--

--