This Halloween I Hope People Scream When They See Me (Not Laugh)

by Zuckerberg

Zuckerberg
Gawken
2 min readOct 31, 2016

--

A lot has changed in the past few years—especially for Halloween. It used to be that kids would go trick or treating until 8 o’clock. Now they stay out until 8:15 or 8:25, according to the data. But the biggest change is the things we wear. A long long time ago, in 2001, you could dress up as a ghost and people would really like your costume. Now, people are like, “have you seen this television show that I’ve seen? I’m dressed as a key grip from this show. It’s a great show. You don’t know it. You don’t know much of anything, do you Mark? I look amazing.”

Is it my fault that there is now a mechanism whereby even small decisions like what to wear on Halloween become part of the public record forever? Have I ruined the ability of children and grown adults to enjoy themselves in a way that is fleeting and spontaneous and not ironic?

No. I would never do that to us, or to Halloween.

Perhaps, if you are so scared about being photographed on Halloween, maybe stay at home, like I do? Call me what you want, but I prefer eating chips at home alone to eating chips in your house at a Halloween party, where you can see me. When you’re eating chips and Halloween candy at home, you don’t have to share your chips with someone and then later overhear them say “I thought he was cool now that he’s rich.”

Okay, but what I really care about is scary costumes. I like being scared! Well, not really. I like for you to be scared, especially when I’m not scared at all.

People these days, when it comes to costumes, seem to think it’s better to wear something that’s a PUN (Play on Words) or some emoji. I really don’t like it when people have funny costumes, because being funny is not what Halloween is fundamentally about. Halloween is about ghosts, witches, and being part of a minority religion (paganism), and how scary it is to belong to a minority religion in this country.

What I am trying to say by all this is, when you see me this Halloween, please do not laugh, because my costume (which will remain a surprise) is not meant to be ironic, or to make people laugh. The point is for people to be scared. Please scream at me.

Twitter is a cesspool of journalism and name-calling. Please follow us on Facebook instead.

--

--