I Question. Do You?

But the one thing I don’t question is …

Mike Rosebush, PhD
GAYoda
3 min readJan 8, 2024

--

Image purchased via iStock

I question a lot of things. Do you? I believe it is healthy to question stuff. But there is one thing I don’t question.

This article is inspired by Paul Coleman’s song, “The One Thing” (lyrics by Warner Chappel Music)

“Here I am, in a river of questions. Can I pour my heart out to a listening ear? I see this life, it’s valleys and mountains. And I think of all the roads that brought me here. Oh, that brought me here. Walking down, walking down those roads”

“I question my reason. This life I’m living.”

Am I supposed to continue being a writer for Medium? For GAYoda? Am I supposed to be more vocal about LGBTQ and BLM? How do I come out to my grandchildren? Is it okay to question; to be uncertain?

“But the one thing I don’t question is You. You really love me like You say You do. Yeah, the one thing I don’t question is You. So, hold me. I need You. Hold me.”

“I question my ability to judge wrong from right.”

Is the Bible inspired and infallible? Do I truly know the context of the passages I read? Am I correct in believing that God affirms gay marriage?

“But the one thing I don’t question is You. You really love me like You say You do. And the one thing I don’t question is You. So, hold me. I’m lost without You. Hold me.”

“I’ve questioned all things I’ve ever called certain: my race, my religion, my country, my mind.”

How do I lovingly express Black Lives Matter? Am I wise for leaving Evangelicalism and becoming an Exvangelical? Who do I vote for when neither choice seems right? Is my way of thinking always correct?

“But the one thing I don’t question is You. You really love me like You say You do. The one thing I don’t question is You. So, hold me. I need Your love. Hold me.”

“I’ve questioned my significance, meaning, and relevance. Does the work I’m doing really matter at all?”

Am I truly making any difference in the world? Is my zeal for loving every person making a difference?

“But the one thing I don’t question is You. You really love me like You say You do. Yeah, the one thing I don’t question is You. So, hold me. I need Your love. Hold me.”

“Well, I’ve questioned my friendship, alliance, dependence. Who will be there when I fall?”

If I die tonight, would my Facebook friends even know, even care? If I stand up for LGBTQ and BLM rights, will my friends leave me?

“But the one thing I don’t question is You. You really love me like You say You do. And the one thing I don’t question is You. So, hold me. I need Your love. Hold me.”

“Only one thing doesn’t change.”

“Only one thing stays the same.”

“All I know at the end of the day is Your love remains.”

Dr. Mike Rosebush (Ph.D., Counseling Psychology; he, him, his;) is the creator and editor of GAYoda, plus a writer for Backyard Church. A short synopsis of Dr. Rosebush’s life can be found at I Lived the Most Unusual Gay Christian Life Ever. He may be contacted at mikerosebush75@gmail.com.

--

--

Mike Rosebush, PhD
GAYoda

Lover of Jesus | Gay Married| Founder/Writer “GAYoda” | Counselor/Encourager