The Genesis as Lead of GDG Ilorin

Nnamdi Clement Azubuike
GDG Ilorin
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2022

Anyone can hold the helm when the sea is calm. — Publilius Syrus

GDG Ilorin Logo

I recently became the Google Developer Groups Ilorin Team Lead.

In March 2022 I received a call from the Google Developer Groups Ilorin team asking if I will be interested in being the new lead of the community. Well, during the call I said “yes, why not?”. After accepting the Community’s Terms and Conditions, I got the “Green Light”, a congratulatory mail, and everything started.

To tell the truth, I was both excited and anxious. However, I am confident that working with Kamaldeen Kehinde, Aerous Ahmad, Mohammed Yayah, Ibraheem Zulkifli, Jekayinoluwa Olabemiwo, Olaleye Adeola, and the entire team, we will achieve a ton of milestones✨.

I have been a lead advocate for tech community for a while now, subsequently occupying the position of the Vice President and President of the Nigerian Association of Computing Students (NACOS), Kwara State University Chapter. Growing, expanding, and giving back to the sort of community that set my career foundation in the tech industry has always been my goal and ambition.

Therefore, taking the role as the lead of GDG Ilorin will help me reach out to a large number of communities, institutions, and students within and outside Kwara State.

How do I intend to grow, expand and give back to the community?

The above questions popped up almost immediately the call ended. It is one thing to know what to do, and it is another to know how to go about it. To achieve the set goals, the following steps would be taken:

• Constant Communication with my predecessor
• Ensuring knowledge sharing and cordial communication across the whole team.
• Having a well-structured plan of events.

To mention but a few. With the full cooperation of the team, I strongly believe we’re “Soaring High”. I’ll definitely share my journey as we go, trust me it’s going to be an amazing one. I am glad to be a part of the team 💪

The best is yet to come! So, stay tuned!

--

--

Nnamdi Clement Azubuike
GDG Ilorin

I a confident, self-driven, and passionate individual with a genuine interest in learning and providing solutions to problems.