Around the (Cloud Study Jams ‘19) World in 80 Days

Ilias Papachristos
Google for Developers Europe
6 min readApr 21, 2019

My 80 days trip as a Facilitator at the Cloud Study Jams ’19 has just finished. It was an amazing journey and I wanted to share my experiences with you.

GDG Greece | Cloud Study Jams ‘19

But how did everything started? How did I become a Facilitator after all? Why me? Why?

So many questions! But the answer is simple. Why not?!!!!

I’ve met Panayotis Tzinis, the Leader of the GDG Greece, about 3 years ago. I was attending a speech for Android and Arduino at the University of Macedonia. Then I became a more active-passive member. By active-passive I mean that I was actively attending the meetups and the Study Jams (Android & AI) and not doing anything else for the community (passive).

We’ve met again at the Christmas Digital Analytics Meetup (organised by Panagiotis Tzamtzis). While drinking beers he proposed me to become the Facilitator at the next Study Jam, for the Cloud.

I didn’t answer right away. Why? Cause I wasn’t sure what Facilitator was. I went to get a beer and opened Google Translator, found what Facilitator was and then returned back.

I remember that I had sooooooo many questions! The main one was: “And what should I do?” Panayotis replied: “Just some Qwiklabs workshops and talk to the people that will attend them”.

I had already worked a lot with Qwiklabs. I have finished 3 Specialization courses from Coursera and the Google Cloud. And talking to people is something that I like!

OK! No problem! I can do it!

That was it. From an active-passive member, I was now an Active member!

So, he sent me the Organizer’s Guide to choosing the Lab Topics and Skill Level. I remember that when I read it I had a lot of questions. And there is no better place to have your questions answered than drinking beers 🍻.

We’ve started with 3 Cloud Study Jams on our mind. Machine Learning, IoT & Kubernetes. All of them, Introductory Level.

That was our plans until we made the Form of Interest. We had responses from 110 people. And it was only for Thessaloniki.

That was a problem. Our venue was the City College.

City College of Sheffield in Thessaloniki

Maximum capacity was 35–40 people. From 3 workshops we made them 6. Each one should have a repeat and the people were able to book their places from the Meetup.

Our first Cloud Study Jam was for Machine Learning. I thought that we could finish all 5 qwiklabs. I was, as always, an optimist!

The most difficult thing was to… Log In correctly and Use Subscription otherwise we got a Buy Credits (Oh, NO!!!😕 ) message. And then, to follow the tempo of the slowest person.

I was lucky because at the first two workshops I had Panagiotis Tzamtzis with me, as a Facilitator.

Me (L) & Panagiotis (R)

One of us was doing the workshop and the other was doing the… troubleshooting. But there were times when both of us were helping people.

Troubleshooting from the Facilitators!

Machine Learning was followed by the Kubernetes track. I finished the Introductory Quest but also I finished the Advanced one. I had some questions and gaps. So, I did my search on the net and I was ready.

Two workshops, alone. The first one was in Greek and the second in the English language. That was a challenge! Do the workshop, at the same time to go around and help with the problems and finish the lab in time! But everything went smoothly!

We finished with IoT. One alone and the last one with the contribution of Panagiotis Tzamtzis.

Somewhere between the Kubernetes and the IoT track, Panayotis asked me if I can go with him to Athens and train some people there, to become Facilitators. Sure, Ok, No problem was my answer. He said that we’ll drink beers🍻 also, that’s why I agreed so easily.

At Randstad Greece, I met three remarkable people.

Konstantina, Tasos & Me (from L to R)

Konstantina, Tasos & Thanos. I had two days with them (one and a half actually). To go from Zero to Heroes. I had to bomb them with everything. A lot of inputs! But they went above my expectations. They even made their first presentation workshop to me.

After that they were ready. And they did a fine job. Two workshops each week for 5 weeks! We had some problems but they were conducting me through Hangout, Slack, LinkedIn, SMS, phone calls and we’ve managed to solve everything (or almost everything).

I’m glad that I’ve met them, the 3 Randstad’s Musketeers as I call them.

My last workshop as a Facilitator finished on Monday 15/4/2019. The GDG Thessaloniki joined forces with the not-only-Java meetup (organised by Patroklos Papapetrou). I talked about Kubernetes and then did one lab with them. Now they have to finish the other 4 to get the Badge of the Quest. 😉

Now, I have one more workshop to be online and help the 3 Musketeers. And that’s it. Or isn’t it?

My trip was unforgettable!

“I find your lack of faith disturbing!”

To talk about something I love, to help people from my community understand how things at the GCP works, to give them my enthusiasm and receive their positive vibes, to get a thank you at the end of the workshops… all of these and many more will be always the things that I’ll remember!

My pieces of advice for you. Join your community. Be a member passive or active it doesn’t matter. Do the Qwiklabs. It’s the fastest, easiest and safest way to have your hands dirty. To get experience with Google Cloud Platform. Ask questions. Nobody knows everything, why should you? And that’s how we’ll grow together!

At the end of my article I want to thank some people:

First of all Panayotis Tzinis, the Leader of GDG Greece who trusted me this project!

Vassilis Tsoulis who was our connection with the City College and supported us with the venue, the pc and everything!

My friend Panagiotis Tzamtzis who helped me as a Facilitator, who is a great person and a great friend!

Panayotis, Vassilis & Panagiotis (on the background from L to R)

Anna (Sikalos) Sykalou-Sefteli for her exceptional professional contribution at Randstad Greece!

The 3 remarkable Musketeers Konstantina Vatidi, Tasos Maragkidis and Thanos Loumproukos who did an extraordinary job!

And finally, all the people who attended the workshops here in Greece gave us feedback and helped us grow!

It’s a beautiful (Cloud Study Jam ’19) day!

I’m truly thankful to all of you!

The best is coming! So, stay tuned!

--

--

Ilias Papachristos
Google for Developers Europe

Full-Time Family Man, Retired Military Helicopter Pilot, Kendo Instructor, Google Cloud Champion Innovator AI/ML, Lead GDG Cloud Thessaloniki, WTM Ambassador