My Google Developer Group Philippines Journey

Juvar Abrera
gdgphilippines
Published in
3 min readJan 9, 2018

It all started back in 2015 when I was in 4th year of college at the De La Salle University Dasmariñas. My former professor, Mrs. Gloria del Rosario, referred me to GDG Philippines as one of their temporary creatives for the upcoming Google I/O Extended in our university. I basically created posters and designed a website for the event.

Screenshots of my first website for GDG Philippines

Months had passed, they invited me again to design posters and to document DevFest Philippines 2015. It was my first time to document the event by taking photographs and made a same-day edit video for 2 days. Event after event, I have built my own portfolio of websites and posters I designed.

Screenshots of some of the websites I designed for GDG Philippines

It does not stop there. GDG Philippines has encouraged me to do public speaking about different Google technologies. I started with Polymer then Progressive Web Apps and Accelerated Mobiles Pages then Google Assistant. So far, I have reached more than 3,000 developers (mostly students) nationwide in different universities. In a span of a year, GDG Philippines already helped me boost my confidence, my portfolio, and reach other developers for them to gain new knowledge.

Photos where I gave talks to different universities

GDG Philippines also gave me an opportunity to join the Google I/O 2017 in Mountain View, California. For me, it was the best experience to meet Googlers, meet other GDGs in different countries, and learn more new technologies so that I can share them here in the Philippines.

Seated near front center of the stage at Google I/O
The Google I/O logo at the gate

All of this wouldn’t be possible without GDG Philippines, Google, and of course, my former professor. This 2018, it will be another opportunity to reach more developers, to share the latest Google technologies, and to hear some of their success stories.

--

--

Juvar Abrera
gdgphilippines

Developer at National Telehealth Center — University of the Philippines Manila