My Journey with Google Developer Group Philippines

Ralph Vincent Regalado
gdgphilippines
Published in
2 min readJan 2, 2018
Together with my students who won the “Hack for Fun, Hack for Love” hackathon organized by GDG Philippines back in 2013

My journey to becoming one of Google Developer Group Philippines (GDG PH) community leads took years. My story started during the “Hack for Fun, Hack for Love” hackathon that GDG PH organized back in 2013. I brought together with me my students to join and luckily some of them won the contest. Months after, I was warmly invited to speak at various events organized by the GDG communities across the Philippines.

From 2013 to 2014, I started to involve myself more thru helping as a volunteer, speaker, and co-organizer in various events organized by GDG. The idea and motive of community building slowly grow within me.

Panel session together with the community leads from Lviv, Ukraine and Nantes, France during GDG Community Summit 2017 at California.

It was late 2014 when I mustered the courage to message Miss Chelle Gray of Google and tell her that I have plans on helping to create a GDG Cavite chapter. Though I got a good response on the idea, I realized that opening a new chapter will not push through during that time.

March 2015, I was invited to a dinner by Miss Chelle and the GDG PH team. At first, I thought it was just a simple get-to-know dinner but it came out to be a surprise. They shared that I’ll be helping GDG PH as one of the Community leads. Though I was just smiling, my heart was literally jumping with joy.

GDG Philippines growing community of passionate volunteers.

As shared in my GDG Asia Stories last year, GDG PH became an avenue for me to help and inspire more people, especially students, to dream. Not only to dream but also to pour passion and hard work in making their dreams a reality.

Learn more about the Google Developer Groups by watching this video:

(lucky to be featured here!)

Learn more about our events at GDG Philippines. Visit https://fb.com/gdgphilippines and https://www.meetup.com/gdgphilippines/

--

--

Ralph Vincent Regalado
gdgphilippines

Google Developer Expert for Machine Learning | CEO and Founder at Senti AI