Uyo are you ready for DevFest 2019?

Nsikak Thompson
gdgUyo
Published in
5 min readOct 31, 2019

Largest community run technology event in Uyo. Always remarkable

DevFest is the largest community run technology event organized by local Google Developer Groups(GDG) around the world. Google Developer Group Uyo(GDG Uyo) have been privilege to host this event twice in November 2015 and November 2018.

DevFestSS 2019

Last years edition was massive because it was a cluster event where GDG Uyo hosted other GDG chapters across South South Nigeria.

We are excited to announce that DevFest will be happening a Uyo again for the 3rd time on 16th November 2019 at Ibom Elibrary Uyo, IBB Avenue, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

  • 500+ Attendees.
  • 4 Tracks
  • 10 Sessions
  • Swags and other goodies.

Featuring: Skills for developers, Growth & best Practices, Business growth, Impact in communities, Mental Health, Becoming world class and The future of technology.

We will also be featuring rockstar speakers from top tech companies in Nigeria and abroad. Check out here

Reserve your seat here

DevFest has greatly contributed to the growth of attendees by bringing opportunities closer and sharing more insight about technology as the future. We are happy to share previous DevFest success stories with you.

Here are success stories from few of our Attendees

Ekemini Sunday — Project Manager at Jiggle

Being the first major tech event I attended, DevFest South South Uyo 2018, opened my eyes to vast opportunities abounding in the world of ICT. The event had five keynote talks by amazing speakers such as Mark Essien, Celestine Omin, Hanson Johnson who shared various technological insights and even their early days’ experience, hurdles and successes.

This was quite encouraging and I also attended break out a session on Web Development which turned out to be very informative. Asides the talks and sessions, getting to meet young people thriving in tech was really inspiring for me.

This was a big turn around in my career as it motivated me to get an offer as a Project Manager at a Fintech Startup called Jiggle.

Elisha Ukpong — Full Stack Web developer

My name is Elisha Ukpong, a web developer working with an agric-tech company, Globetrot Farmsponsor located in the city of Port Harcourt, Rivers State, Nigeria.

I have had the opportunity to attend more than one Devfest Event, one of which (DevFestSS, Uyo) stands out greatly for me, and has had a lasting impact on me and my career in software development till date.

I was a live-support volunteer member on the DevFestSS, Uyo which gave me access to top members of the community, mentorship and training whose effects has endured far beyond the event. Also the joy of wearing a volunteer tag in an event that had more than 1000 people in attendance, the feeling is amazing.

On the event day, apart from meeting a lot of people on the registration desk, I also listened to inspiring and touching talks by super-star speakers who graced the conference, which I might not have met naturally over the course of my career, but was made possible by DevFestSS, Uyo, the likes of Prosper Otemuyiwa, Celestine Omin, Samson Goddy and Ada Nduka Oyom to name a few.

To crown it all, I also got an opportunity to meet a recruiter while attending to issues on the live support platform who was willing to hire from the volunteers team and got hired after a successful interview process. I am glad to have attended devfest and volunteered for it, I not only ended up with more knowledge, I also got a nice placement to put all my leaning to work.

Big thanks to GDG for making this possible.

Mfonobong Umondia — UI/UX Designer and Figma Africa Advocate

Hello, my name is Mfonobong Umondia UI/UX Designer and Figma Africa Advocate. I attended my first DevFest in November 2015 😁… Yeah, that’s quite a long time. So let me give you a walkthrough my tech journey, I became a tech enthusiast in 2014 after a 1-week Game Development Boot camp which was organized by Start Innovation Hub, my eyes were popped open and I was amazed at what I could do with just my laptop and internet. In that one year, I learned so much that it transitioned me into a full-time woman in tech, I explored fields like Android Development etc before finally landing in User Interface/ User Experience Design and my experience in design has been amazing since then.

Attending DevFest 2015 was the beginning of an awesome journey for me because I met lots of people into different fields in tech, established contacts, as well as learn from others, especially the speakers that came in. This, in fact, had set me on the right path to know what works best for me in what I do.

Last year, as a result of how passionate I was about teaching other people design. I met with one of the speakers in the person of Namnso Ukpannah who gave me a guide on how to apply to the team to become a Figma Advocate in my community. I did and it was successful. So currently, I lead a team of Awesome designers in Uyo.

DevFest last year was mind blowing. We had quality speakers who came to impact great knowledge on the attendees, I also learnt about Open Source. The whole place was packed with people desiring to be in tech. DevFest I would say is not just an event, it brings together lots of people with different experiences in tech.

You can be more. Join this years #DevFestUyo

--

--

Nsikak Thompson
gdgUyo
Editor for

Android developer | Technical writer | Community Enthusiast