Where great work meets great life!

javier silverio
Geckoboard: Under The Hood
4 min readJan 24, 2018

Javier Silverio is part of our amazing Customer Success Team. Here he reflects on what it means to balance both parenthood and work at Geckoboard.

A few weeks ago, I was walking my daughters to their nursery for the day and my 19-month-old decided she wanted to spend some time looking at two ducks by the canal. Nothing could move her away.

Every parent of young children knows what it’s like trying to leave the house in the morning. We often feel guilty for rushing to get them fed, ready and out the door in time so we can be punctual for work.

After looking at my watch, my first thought was, “We’re going to be late! I’d better pick her up and keep walking whether she likes it or not.”

But then I thought again about my team at Geckoboard, and instead of worrying, I reflected on how we have each other’s backs — for the big things (like surgery or the death of a loved one) as well as the small things (enjoying the moment while your child giggles at ducks chasing each other).

I work in the Customer Success team, and customer service is my passion. I discovered Geckoboard after completing a Makers Academy bootcamp and deciding my next role would combine both my customer service and new coding skills.

Not only was I excited about the product and the role I could play, I discovered I was working with an amazing team of highly skilled people in a great environment. And then the icing on the cake was discovering Geckoboard also understood I am a father, husband and son — giving me the tools to do more by taking away the stress and distraction of a poor work life balance.

We’re lucky enough to be raising a family here in London. But the quality of life can vary dramatically depending on the company you work for. I once worked at a call centre that would fine you if you were two minutes late, no excuses. It was excessively stressful. Working for a company that understands I have priorities outside of work, and is compassionate about that, helps me work at my best.

At Geckoboard, we all share four core beliefs. These values are at the heart of everything we do. One belief is in having a great workplace and great lives, therefore we:

  • Work smarter, not harder by playing to our strengths and focusing on our goals.
  • Prioritize health and family over work ALWAYS.
  • Constantly strive to create a workplace that is welcoming and supportive for anyone.
  • Always see the good in each other even when we disagree.

These are all important values. But to me, the one that has made the biggest impact is “Prioritize health and family over work ALWAYS” as it allows me to have the freedom to take a couple extra minutes in the morning to foster my daughter’s curiosity as we walk to the nursery.

Of course, I still need to get my work done. Having the peace of mind that the leaders and team at Geckoboard understand the importance of health and family takes a weight off me and my family. When something comes up, I let the team know, and we support each other. The work gets done as we all help one another.

I wanted to share how the following policies translate for us as a family.

Flexible working

Geckoboard believes people do their best work when it fits around their life. It’s about getting our work done, not about where that work is done. This means I can work a 9-day fortnight (working the equivalent of 10 days over 9 days) to balance our childcare needs, and work from home as required.

25+ Vacation days

Geckoboard uses 25 days (excluding bank holidays) as the benchmark. It’s about taking the time you need to get a proper break to come back rested and ready. For us as a family, this meant one year we were lucky enough to visit both set of grandparents who live abroad, without having to worry about taking an extra day or two to make the most out of the visits. I was also able to work remotely, which made the trip even more memorable for my family.

Enhanced Paternity Leave

Our second daughter was born about 18 months after I joined Geckoboard and I was able to spend 4 weeks bonding with her at home with full pay. This was huge for my family and way better than the statutory 2 weeks you can get in the UK.

These are just a few of the ways we take care of each other here at Geckoboard.

If you’ve been eyeing the roles on our career page, but are feeling a bit apprehensive, go ahead and apply. The work is challenging and exciting, the team is collaborative and supportive, and it’s the most family-friendly place I’ve ever worked at.

We’d love to have you join us!

(Now, where did those ducks go?)

--

--

javier silverio
Geckoboard: Under The Hood

Happy to be here. Dad, Customer success @geckoboard. Noise, East London, Beer.