Elastic Collisions in One Dimension

Rhett Allain
Geek Physics
Published in
5 min readMar 9, 2019

--

I need a nice model to predict the final velocity when two balls collide elastically. Don’t worry why I need this-just trust me.

After working on this for a short bit and making an error, I realized what I need to do. I need to blog about it. A blog is the perfect place to work things out.

So, here is the situation. A ball of mass 10 kg (ball A) is moving with a speed of 0.1 m/s in the positive x-direction. This collides with a 1 kg ball (ball B) moving at 0.1 m/s in the negative x-direction. What is the final velocity of the two balls if the collision is perfectly elastic.

For a perfectly elastic collision, the following two things are true:

  • Momentum is conserved. The total momentum before the collision is equal to the total momentum after the collision.
  • Kinetic energy is conserved. The total kinetic energy is the same before and after the collision.

In one dimension, I can write this as the following two equations. I’m going to drop the “x” notation since you already know it’s in the x-direction. Also, I am going to use A1 for the velocity of A before the collision and A2 for after. Same for ball B.

That’s two equations and two unknowns (the two final velocities). Before solving this, I want to find the answer with a numerical…

--

--

Rhett Allain
Geek Physics

Physics faculty, science blogger of all things geek. Technical Consultant for CBS MacGyver and MythBusters. WIRED blogger.