A New FinTech AI Player in China

Terence Xie
GeekArtT
Published in
3 min readApr 2, 2019

I like reading TechCrunch for grasping latest tech information. And I also like its subsidiary company CrunchBase, which can provide much deeper and broader information for me to dig into projects/companies I’m interested in. But one pity thing is: it focuses on American companies, which can’t provide the fasting growing China industry information.

I also like Google finance or Yahoo finance, which provide me basic briefs for daily market information updating. It responses my query quickly, and plotting beautiful charts on my browser. I always think that’s too great to be improved.

Recently, I found one exciting product called Tigerobo Search, which can provide more things than the tools I used. Almost all mainstream search engines follow the same workflow: input one query and output great amount of URL links. We’re so familiar with this workflow that we never thought there can be anther answer form to satisfy our question, like this:

The point here is the answers are not in the form of URL links, but direct searched information itself: the comparing data chart, the PDF files I’m looking for, and the finance data table I’m looking for. That’s really an exciting new user experience!

I know Google has tried the Knowledge Graph for a period. But it always tried superficially. Maybe it’s due to its the too success business model and existing search workflow, which makes Google can’t change dramatically.

But FinTech is the new hottest field in startup area, where only the most creative company can survive. According to the product provided by Tigerobo, it really complies creative idea hardly.

Let’s reference one research report from JingData, which is another Chinese FinTech player:

It’s so obvious that the FinTech is the hottest baby in China.

So for investors, the main American company information provided by CrunchBase may not be enough. How about one Chinese version of CrunchBase?

The app is called “创投派”, which is also built from Tigerobo. The name means Startup-Invest-Party, which wants to make a connection for startup entrepreneur and investors. For people, especially who want to know Chinese startup market, it’s really a great tool for information updating.

I do feel fun to use those products for Chinese new marketing detection, maybe you can also make a try to catch one Unicorn in China :)

Unlisted

--

--