48h on DarkNet

I spent 48 hours on the DarkNet and this is what I found. What is it? How does it work? What’s inside? Is it safe?

David Amrani Hernandez
Geek Culture

--

Photo by Fábio Lucas on Unsplash

Although it may sound like a sensationalist headline, it describes the content of this post well. During this week I have been preparing the content for my Twitch broadcast on the DeepWeb.

🔔 20:00 — Today I’ll be on Twitch surfing the Deep Web

In this blog I share information that, if searched, can be really disgusting. When you see the warning icon (⚠️) it means that you enter these links at your own risk, knowing that you may encounter objectionable or illegal content.

How does Tor work?

I’m not going to go into too much technical stuff, as the internet has much better and more widespread answers, so I’ll try to summarise it as much as possible.

The conventional internet (surface internet) sends data from person A to person B through many intermediaries (routers) with public information. This means that if you were to take the information from any router, you would know who has requested which page and where they are both located.

For example: Alice wants to send a message to Mery. To do so, she will pass on the message to her friends Bob, Carol and David. Alice…

--

--

David Amrani Hernandez
Geek Culture

Senior Cloud Security | Secdevops @ Telefonica ☕️ Writing about Cloud, Cybersecurity, new technologies and other hobbies 🚀