Data Science

5 Key Ingredients for a Job-Winning Data Science Project

Make your resume stand out with these projects and get hired

Benedict Neo
Geek Culture
Published in
5 min readApr 14, 2023

--

Photo by Icons8 Team on Unsplash

In today’s competitive job market, being a data scientist requires more than technical skills. It requires the ability to problem-solve and clear communication.

But how can one gain these skills without work experience in the first place? By building data science projects.

As a university student, I’ve seen firsthand how working on data science projects can make all the difference in getting hired. In fact, it was working on a data science project that helped me secure an internship at Tesla.

So, what are the key ingredients for a job-winning data science project?

In this blog, I’ll share five tips on how working on projects can help you learn the skills necessary for success on the job.

#1 Start with a problem

Data science is all about driving value for businesses, and solving useful problems shows the hiring manager that you can identify problems and create value.

For example, I realized LinkedIn doesn’t provide any insights into who my connections are, so I decided to download my data and build an app that

--

--