AgileWay Test Automation Formula

A proven combination of frameworks and tools for achieving UI test automation success. I have been using the exact formula since 2011.

Zhimin Zhan
Geek Culture
Published in
9 min readMay 30, 2021

--

Non-Medium-Members: now you can view this article free on Vocal Media.

Recently, a former colleague asked me for a successful test automation formula. This happened before; my default answer was to refer him to my book: “Practical Web Test Automation”, and advise him to do the exercises, and then apply them to work. I believe that the success of test automation depends on many attributes: knowledge, willingness to learn and be ready to change, test frameworks/tools, management support, .. etc. More importantly, do it hands-on from Day 1, and every workday onwards. There is no silver bullet.

When I put more thought into it this time, while I still hold the belief that successful test automation has many factors, I believe that there is a good pattern people can follow. A formula, based on my understanding, is a combination of components and processes that has been proven and others can copy and apply to use quickly. The universal applicability makes sense as our target (e.g. web apps) has not changed much.

An important attribute of the formula is completeness. To give an opposite example, I…

--

--

Zhimin Zhan
Geek Culture

Test automation & CT coach, author, speaker and award-winning software developer. Help teams succeed with Agile/DevOps by implementing real Continuous Testing.