Photo by Jair Ribeiro

(almost) Everything you need to know about AI-powered Drones

An in-depth research on drones and how AI is powering this amazing technology today.

Jair Ribeiro
Geek Culture
Published in
36 min readJul 21, 2022

--

I’m sure you’ve seen a Drone, either in person or in videos or movies. I have five different models at home for various situations and tasks.

When I first saw one flying and performing stunts, I wondered, “How does this “thing” make it fly and perform these maneuvers?” So for a long time, one of my fixed ideas was what a drone is and how a Drone work.

When I mention drones, the image that most people have in mind is a machine with four propellers pointing up in an X shape that can be controlled by remote control.

That is correct, but it only describes one type of Drone, and drones are not limited to this model.

There are several types on the market, each with its own set of applications and features and an active community of developers and makers pushing drone technology forward in incredible ways.

Where I live, and probably wherever you are right now, if you look up at the sky on the weekend in a park, close to the sea, or many other places, you have a good chance of seeing a strange device with rotors flying at not very high altitudes.

--

--

Jair Ribeiro
Geek Culture

Top #5 Global AI Thought Leader, Father, Writer, and Reader