Apple’s AI on-Device Speech Recognition Rests on Your Hands Not on the Cloud

Siri will process requests without an internet connection, says Apple.

I, Napoleon B.
Geek Culture
Published in
4 min readJun 10, 2021

--

Apple’s AI on-Device Speech Recognition
Photo by Michael Dziedzic on Unsplash

When I received the unexpected writing bonus, I bought myself a Google Nest Mini speaker, and I am enjoying it. Well, it is an ongoing love affair with Hey, Google, who I secretly call Ethan.

Audio never leaves the device, says Apple.

Audio on-device will run on default on IOS 15. So I guess it is time to upgrade to a new iPhone and say goodbye to my old but very functioning iPhone 6.

“Privacy has been central to our work at Apple from the very beginning,” said Craig Federighi, Apple’s senior vice president of Software Engineering.

Siri will now be able to “help” or “talk” to you without an active Internet connection. This is possible because Apple’s new “neural engine” inside the A11 Bionic chip powers the latest iPhone models starting with the iPhone X series.

Of course, for now, you can’t ask Siri for something you need to look at on the web. We don’t know how the future will be like, as Apple continues to innovate with the way it incorporates…

--

--

I, Napoleon B.
Geek Culture

We all have good stories to tell, and I choose to write them myself. You can donate to my writing journey here: https://square.link/u/5EZrNONS