The personal experience transformed into a tutorial

Beginner-friendly introduction to DevOps with Docker on Windows

I decided to keep my new laptop clean. Don’t want to install any DB, framework, or DevOps software. And then I found out about Docker and how easy it is to work with it. This introduction follows my first steps and the reason for implementing a development environment based on Docker Compose.

Paul Knulst
Geek Culture
Published in
11 min readNov 14, 2021

--

a screenshot of docker compose file used by me
a nice looking docker-compose.yml

Overview

1. Introduction

A while ago I got a new laptop. I decided to keep it clean and don’t want to install every DB, framework, or any other thing on it. So I was working on a nice solution for this purpose. At first, I had a look at vagrant because I already know it…
It is nice and I can do many things with it. So I start using it again. BUT the problem was that I cannot convert easily from development to production. Now I got a problem and I…

--

--

Paul Knulst
Geek Culture

Husband, father of two, geek, lifelong learner, tech lover & software engineer. Writing about projects and challenges in IT. https://www.paulsblog.dev