Deploy Docker images on Fly.io free tier

Three different ways to deploy Docker images.

Beppe Catanese
Geek Culture

--

In this article: Heroku drops the free tier, why Fly.io is a better platform, and the different ways to deploy your Dockerized applications on Fly.io.

Heroku announced in August the end of the free tier of the application hosting and data services, to be focusing only on (paying) mission-critical applications. Student, no-profit and open-source programs should still be available (maybe newly re-designed) but the era of free hosting for your prototypes and new startup ideas is over.

Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

This is a bit of a bummer ☹️: just to be clear, I am an Heroku paying customer for some of my projects that reached a bit of interest (or at least I considered worth investing in it). I found that model great: as developer I start developing and deploying at no cost so I can test my ideas, create beta projects, learn through building. If and when I need something more (for example prevent the Dyno sleep (*) after 30 min inactivity) I go with “pay-as-you-go”: at that point my app is already available, tested and fully working, therefore I am confident that this cost is a good investment.

This is now over.

(*) Heroku web Dynos go in stand-by after 30 minutes without incoming HTTP requests. When a new request arrives the

--

--

Beppe Catanese
Geek Culture

Developer Relations @ Adyen. Here sharing new trends, dev tools and best practises about APIs.