Developers, do this to cleverly convey your ideas.

DN Tech
Geek Culture
Published in
5 min readSep 18, 2022

--

Do you feel it’s more exhausted when you read a paragraph of explanation compared to reading a diagram?

Study has found that visuals deliver messages much more effectively compared to pure text as our brain processes images more thoroughly than text.

https://hub.uberflip.com/content-marketing/why-marketers-need-a-visual-influence-strategy

Taking a personal experience from myself, I followed this guy Alex Xu on LinkedIn because I like that he always included a diagram/picture in his posts, which greatly assists with my understanding of his content, such as this one:

Screenshot by Author

Humans are visual creatures.

In the development world, we often need to bring the link between technology and the business purposes we serve. To convey those ideas clearly and efficiently, drawing diagrams is a must-have skill for developers.

What diagrams can we make use of to convey our ideas?

Here are the 5 most commonly used diagrams by myself and my colleagues and I hope they can help you too.

1. UML Sequence Diagram

--

--

DN Tech
Geek Culture

Backend Software Engineer who shares about my daily work bits