Don’t just learn to code. Learn to build cool stuff instead.

Follow this roadmap to learn to build your own apps, websites, and programs from zero.

Caine Ardayfio
Geek Culture

--

Photo by Simon Berger

A few days ago, I was studying in a friend’s dorm room and struck up a conversation with one of his roommates.

He’s a football player at Harvard who, like many varsity athletes, prioritizes eating healthy. However, he struggled to find healthy food options when eating out. He asked me how he could create an app that shows the user nearby healthy restaurants and orders the restaurants by Yelp reviews. He’s never coded, but just wanted to know how to get started.

This is what I like to call learning to build cool stuff. On a fairly regular basis non-technical friends and family (and apparently now football players) all ask me what is essentially the same question:

“How can I build cool stuff with code?”

This is different than learning to code. Most people don’t want to learn X language for the sake of knowing X language. They want to realize some creative vision through code—whether that be an app, a website, a program, or any other technology. Too many well-intentioned people focus too much on just teaching you how to code.

--

--

Caine Ardayfio
Geek Culture

I’m a computer science undergraduate at Harvard. I write about technology 👨‍💻 and am interested in entrepreneurship 🚀. Check me out at www.ardayf.io