From The C5 To The Electric Scooter

Dr Stuart Woolley
Geek Culture
Published in
9 min readOct 18, 2021

--

Short range commuting can be revolutionised if politicians get backbone and people complain more loudly!

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

Assumptions and Foundations

It’s a bit of a stretch already as I’ve clearly stated in the tagline above that politicians would have to have a backbone to push through the necessary changes I’m going to outline in this article. (Let’s not mention commuting either, as I go into that a few times later on — just read footnote [4] every time I mention it. I have strong feelings on commuting, just look at my articles.)

This, of course, directly conflicts with their usual modus operandi of focussing only on short term projects, within their short term of governance, with the primary focus being on their re-election.

So, put that aside and suspend reality, let’s go on a gentle journey together.

A Trundle Down Memory Lane

Although I was on the other team (more precisely, 6502) during my own 8-bit years and didn’t actually own a ZX-81 or Sinclair Spectrum, the late Sir Clive Sinclair’s attitude to innovation and marketing always fascinated me from a very early age.

He always had those extremely alluring advertisements in the Sunday papers in the very early 1980s stating the what was once ludicrous…

--

--

Dr Stuart Woolley
Geek Culture

Worries about the future. Way too involved with software. Likes coffee, maths, and . Would prefer to be in academia. SpaceX, X, and Overwatch fan.