Gamedev Log: “Slash’n’crack” #3 (Unity/C#)

A step-by-step log of how I made a basic Unity/C# mobile game: “Slash’n’crack”!

Mina Pêcheux
Geek Culture
Published in
6 min readFeb 11, 2022

--

⬅️ Gamedev Log: “Slash’n’crack” #2 | TOC | Gamedev Log: “Slash’n’crack” #4 ➡️

These past few days, I’ve started to post a new series of articles to share how I’m making a simple Unity/C# game: Slash’n’crack! These gamedev logs are a way for me to explain some game development tips and tricks and to show small demos of the project in its current state.

Also, for this dev challenge, I have a tight time constraint: I only have 8 hours to make the entire game, from start to finish!

In today’s episode, let’s talk about one of the main feature of the game: the slashing mechanics!

Day #3: Slashing the asteroids

Features & demo

So far, I’ve mostly been setting up my scene and working on the obstacles. My game manager now auto-generates asteroids endlessly so that I can keep on “fighting the menace”… but I don’t actually have any way to do so! ;)

That’s why, during this 3rd hour of dev, I’m going to dive into the meat of the project and take care of implementing the slashing feature — both in terms of logic and visualisation.

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
Geek Culture

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)