Gamedev Log: “Slash’n’crack” #5 (Unity/C#)

A step-by-step log of how I made a basic Unity/C# game: “Slash’n’crack”!

Mina Pêcheux
Geek Culture
Published in
5 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

⬅️ Gamedev Log: “Slash’n’crack” #4 | TOC | Gamedev Log: “Slash’n’crack” #6 ➡️

For the past few days, I’ve been posting a new series of gamedev logs about the simple Unity/C# mobile game I’m currently working on: Slash’n’crack!

For this dev challenge, I have a tight time constraint: I only have 8 hours to make the entire game, from start to finish!

In this new episode, I’m going to tackle a bunch of important features so that I have all the heart of my game done, namely the score, the player hitpoints and the game over

Hour #5: Adding the score & the lives, and implementing the game over logic

Features & demo

With my work from last week and the new asteroid model I made on Monday, I now have a somewhat “okay” game, in the sense that I have cool low-poly obstacles coming at me that I can slash to destroy, with a nice cracking animation:

--

--

Mina Pêcheux
Geek Culture

I’m a freelance full-stack web & game developer. I’m passionate about topics like CGI, music, data science and more! Find me at: https://minapecheux.com :)