Adventures in WSL

Gaming on Linux... on Windows

A guide to installing Lutris on WSL, using the new WSL GUI support in Windows 11. Is it an abomination? …possibly! But it works.

Nicholas Murray
Geek Culture
Published in
4 min readJan 8, 2022

--

Lutris installed on WSL in Windows 11

Introduction

I have recently been testing out the new GUI support for WSL in Windows 11. After getting a few basic applications working such as Firefox and gedit I began to think what are limits of this GUI support. So naturally, I decided I would attempt to get some games running.

Currently, I have Lutris installed and have managed to get it working with Retroarch, also installed in WSL; and launching some installed ROMs. Using the preview drivers for WSL I have also gotten GPU support!

I have also got Lutris to run my Steam games using the Windows installation rather than the Linux version installed in WSL, so there should be no issues with compatibility when running your games.

Let's get started

Prerequisites

As it says above, this guide is for Windows 11 so I cannot say how it will work in Windows 10 …although I know you can get GUI support working on it.

--

--

Nicholas Murray
Geek Culture

Software Engineer, Father, and Husband. Documenting my journey as a software developer and general tech enthusiast.