Here Are The Basic Components Every Hobby Electronics Beginner Need

This is the shopping list I wish I was given when I first got started tinkering around

Jackson Zheng
Geek Culture

--

4 years ago, I first picked up a soldering iron and gave myself a second degree burn for the first time in my life.

Now, I have built over 40 different projects including FM radios, transmitters, high-powered lasers, acoustic levitators, robots, audio amplifiers, Bluetooth speakers, and so much more!

The lessons I learnt was amazing and the experience was incredible!

I’m not sure what it is but just something about that smell of burning flux and the ability to control electricity in whichever way I want and make it do all these astonishing things continues to take my breath away even to this day.

But it wasn’t always like this though…

When I started out on this journey to become the next Iron Man, there was little information out there for me to use. The only place for me to learn about electronic components were from YouTube videos of Indian guys with thick accents and broken English attempting to teach through their crude drawings and bad handwriting, all while filming the entire thing on their 0.5-megapixel smartphone cameras.

--

--

Jackson Zheng
Geek Culture

Here’s where I spew my thoughts, ideas and learnings.