How I Build and Publish a Chrome Extension

Viet Nguyen
Geek Culture
Published in
6 min readAug 10, 2022

--

Photo by Firmbee.com on Unsplash

Without a doubt, Chrome is one of the most widely used browsers worldwide. It has a reputation for outstanding performance, practical development tools, and a wide variety of extensions.

Currently, there are about 140,000 extensions in the Chrome Web Store, and a lot of them have generated a decent income for developers.

Although developing and deploying your own extension might sound difficult, I’ll show you how simple it is to do so.

In this article, I’ll walk you through the steps I took to create and launch my first Chrome extension.

Anybody could follow this article because I will explain everything in detail, but having basic knowledge of HTML, and JavaScript will help.

Let’s get started!

Come up with an idea

The first important step before building an extension is having an idea.

My idea is to create an extension that helps find information easier on Google by utilizing Google search tricks.

For example, you could use the keyword site to make your search results come from the specified site.

--

--

Viet Nguyen
Geek Culture

I love coding, writing about tech, and bringing value to others. https://vietjs.tech/