How I got my Financial Aid from the Coursera platform

Sachin Chaudhary
4 min readSep 15, 2021

It was the time when I was in my last year and I need certificates to showcase in my resume but I did not have anyone. I was surprised that how these years had passed on and I did not have any certificate. I had skills but nothing to prove those skills. Then, I decided to get a certificate and start googling about which certificate would be good and which platform has the best credibility. And I found Coursera is one of the platforms that will shine your resume and add credibility to your skills and knowledge.

Then, I decided to get a certificate from Coursera. I went on the website. But the course fee was the thing that I could not afford as I had not any job. So I decided to apply for financial aid. My first thought was Will this gets approval or just get cancelled.

It was written there that it would take 15 days to get approval. I just forget after applying to check whether it gets approved or not. After 20–25 days, I opened my Coursera account and what I saw there I could not believe my aid was approved.

You can follow these answers and steps to get help and reference for your financial aid.

You have to answer 3 questions to get financial aid.

Question-1 — Why are you applying for Financial Aid? (150 words minimum required)

Answer- I’m a student of B.Tech computer science from India and want to learn Data Science. This course would help me to create a very excellent base for a Data Science career. I’ve no job of my own to carry the expenses I am living on my parent's money. I am not in good condition that I can pay for the certificate for this course. It is very much difficult for me to gather such an amount of money for the certificate. Financial Aid will help me to take this course without any adverse impact on my monthly essential needs. I need very severely this financial aid. I want to learn things that’s why I am taking this course. “Python Project for Data Science” will help me to gain practical experience and simultaneously it will help me to get a job after graduation from my institute. This course will help in perform better understanding and learning this technology and give me an edge over my competitors. A verified certificate will attach credibility to the skills and knowledge, I gain from this course. I plan to complete all assignments on or before time. Also, I intend to participate in Discussion Forums, which will be supplementary to my learning. I also plan to do grade assignments that are peer-reviewed which I believe will be an invaluable learning opportunity.

Question-2How will taking this course help you achieve your career goals? (150 words minimum required)

Answer- I am applying for this aid because my main career goal is to become a successful and experienced Data Scientist. I want to learn and progress in my career. I want to gain depth knowledge of the domain so that I can work without having any difficulty in future. This field requires constant learning. Taking this course will help me to learn and study Data Science. This course will allow me to build a great baseline of the domain. It can help me advance in my knowledge. This course will help me in defining Data Science concepts for others, understand how Python could potentially impact our business and industry, and how python and other things can help to avoid making bad decisions. Analyzing the trend of different businesses and other things can help us in better decision making towards the future. Walking away with a strong foundation in where Data Science is going, what it does, and how to prepare for it. “Python Project for Data Science” course will help me achieve this learning. Coursera courses helped me and many people in their career building process in past. And I hope the same for mine.

Question-3 — Would you consider using a low-interest loan to pay for your courses?

You can select according to your capabilities. I select no.

If you answered no, please help us understand why.

I am a student right now and I don’t have any income source. If I take a loan then how will I repay? Being a student I don’t want any debt or loans until I get a job. But in future when I have a job then I will take courses after paying the course fees.

If you find out this article helpful then please share it with others as well.

Help me to reach 1K followers. Follow for more articles like this.

--

--

Sachin Chaudhary

Computer Science Student| Junior Data Scientist| Learner