How I Track My Tasks in Obsidian

Two extensions that turn Obsidian into a task management powerhouse

Ben Newton
Geek Culture

--

My Obsidian App with the Tasks Dashboard in the lower right

I’ve been using Obsidian to take all sorts of notes for work daily. I’ve been using it for a few months now. In creating a solid system for myself, I’ve created an excellent process for handling all my tasks for work.

First, What is Obsidian?

Obsidian is a lightweight note-taking app that markets itself as “Your Second Brain.” And it lives up to the hype. It’s built using Electron, a lightweight app framework that combines Chromium and NodeJs, resulting in a lightning-fast, cross-platform app. What makes the app appealing to many, besides its speed and features, is that you can keep the notes you create on your drive in the markdown file format. So unlike many other note-taking options, you can keep your data safe and local, and if the app were to disappear tomorrow, you still have your data. For developers reading this, it reminds me of early VSCode.

My Task System

Like many others, I just started using Obsidian out of the gate with no real plan. Over time, I added daily notes and noticed what worked and what didn’t. I knew tasks had a place in this system, and this is the task system that has been working for me. The beauty of this system is that I…

--

--

Ben Newton
Geek Culture

Consultant, Full Stack Developer with 25+ years of experience. https://BenENewton.com