How to Build a 3D-Printed Word Clock for under 40 Dollars

Nils Bongarts
Geek Culture
Published in
5 min readNov 1, 2022

--

On the Internet, you can find many variants of the popular Word Clock.

When I first inquired about a Word Clock on the Internet, I was shocked.

The first clocks displayed through Google Shopping have a price of over 2,000 dollars. Even after further browsing on various websites, the finished clocks are sold for over 300 dollars, which was still out of the question for me.

In the following article, I will present my own designed watch, which with some own effort and a 3D-Printer costs under 40 dollars. In order not to distort the costs, tools such as a soldering iron, solder, and especially the 3D-Printer were not included, as these simply must be present for the project. The Word Clock is in German, but can easily be changed to an English Word Clock.

Word Clock says: “It is twenty to three o’clock”

Required tools:

Materials needed:

--

--

Nils Bongarts
Geek Culture

Projects with topics like 3D printing, Raspberry Pi and Arduino. Support me by purchasing Premium by using: https://medium.com/@nilsbongarts/membership