How To Dockerize Your Time-Tracking with Kimai

Increase productivity and get organized in minutes by using Kimai and Docker

Paul Knulst
Geek Culture

--

Photo by Kevin Ku on Unsplash
Photo by Kevin Ku on Unsplash

Introduction

To increase my own productivity, I started recording the time of everything that needs to be done during my studies. I wanted to know how much time I spend on tasks and if changes I make to my regular tasks and routines are really impacting me. It was important to me to understand where time goes and how I could manage it better.

I still do this and now I use a time-tracking software called Kimai.

In this simple How-To, I will explain how a local instance of Kimai can be installed using Docker. Additionally, I will show how you can set up a production-ready cloud instance of Kimai on your server or your server cluster (using Docker Swarm Mode)

How To Deploy Locally

Prerequisite

Install Docker Desktop (Windows)
You can download Docker Desktop for Windows here and install it just by executing the executable.

Afterward, you should consider moving the image store path because it is stored in your user folder in the default configuration.

--

--

Paul Knulst
Geek Culture

Husband, father of two, geek, lifelong learner, tech lover & software engineer. Writing about projects and challenges in IT. https://www.paulsblog.dev