I really wanted Linux to be ready for the Prime Time, but…

… It’s Just Not.

Adam Fisher / fisher king (@therightstuff)
Geek Culture
Published in
6 min readSep 18, 2022

--

Before I visited New York, everyone would go on and on about how incredible New York Pizza is. It’s an established trope. So when I arrived in New York, I went looking for pizza. I found pizza. I ate pizza. I was disappointed. I found pizza somewhere else. I ate it. I was even more disappointed.

It just wasn’t good pizza.

Whenever I describe my less than amazing New York Pizza experience, the response has almost invariably been: “Oh! You can’t just get pizza *anywhere*. You have to go to <insert-name-here>’s pizza parlor!”

Borrowed from https://www.memedroid.com/memes/detail/3706755

History

In the mid-eighties I began my computing journey with MS-DOS (1.0), from there jumped straight into Windows 3.11, before entering the dark ages of Windows 95/NT and up. I’ve never been a fan of Windows, but I didn’t have the opportunity to use a Mac until 2013, and I only really started dipping into the UNIX pool around the turn of the millenium. The first time I switched wholly over to Ubuntu (personally and at work) was around 2010, but that didn’t last too long.

It was just too much effort to do basic things. Standard application and game support has never been great. The UNIX-HATERS Handbook was a hilarious and insightful read, but mostly about other…

--

--

Adam Fisher / fisher king (@therightstuff)
Geek Culture

Software developer and writer of words, currently producing a graphic novel adaptation of Shakespeare's Sonnets! See http://therightstuff.bio.link for details.