I Rediscovered Minecraft At 31

Gaming was a stressful hobby until I went back to Minecraft after a few years.

Daniel Silva
Geek Culture
2 min readJan 31, 2022

--

Image from Canva

Without a doubt, Minecraft is one of the most popular games of all time. So popular that it can even be used for educational purposes.

What I value the most, however, is its calming nature.

In a world populated with First Person Shooters, Action RPGs, and Battle Royales, it seems difficult to find titles that value calm over fast paste action.

When I’m worn out, due to a stressful workday, I don’t want to join a lobby full of hormones and compete for that Winner Winner Chicken Dinner trophy.

I just want to lay back and have a good time playing video games!

Even in Survival Mode, Minecraft is enjoyably relaxing.

Every time I have to face a Creeper, that seemingly found a way into my chicken farm, I don’t stress about the fact that it might blow up the entire flock.

There is no better feeling than building a castle on top of a hill, just for the sake of it, while one friend just digs a water pit around it and the other plants some crops on the outskirts.

Meanwhile, the main base is below the ocean, because why not?

Back in the day, I used to build rockets and automated farms with Redstone. Nowadays, after the day is done, I just gladly plow the square fields to plant the next row of carrots.

And I’m having the time of my life.

Inspired by a fellow creator, I decided to challenge myself to publish 100 short-form articles within January. This is article number 67.

--

--