I spent months hunting for a job in my dream industry after graduation, and I know it’s worthy

Memphis Meng
Geek Culture
Published in
10 min readAug 26, 2021

--

My journey, my struggles, and my gains

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Why I wrote this blog

I once thought I would have no chance to share this experience.

Several months ago, I mentioned my ambition to land a job in the field of data seemed endless until 2 weeks ago. And now I’ve already signed the NDA, been working on the relocation but everything still seems so unreal to me. For one thing, I used to be the candidate who just meant to waste interviewers’ time, so when I got the call from my boss who said that she wanted to recruit me on her own directly instead of her HR team, I felt I was really standing on the top of the world. For the other, this company is the one from the sports industry, in other words, I finally broke into my dream industry!

Provided all my struggles all the way along with my job hunting, I think this offer is a significant milestone and it is worth being marked down.

My journey to this position

Some head-ups about me:

  • Highest education level: Master’s
  • Major: Computer Science/Data Science
  • Pre-graduation Experience: a combination of software engineering, data…

--

--