If You Only Read A Few Data Articles In 2023, Read These

The best of the best data articles on the modern data stack, data engineering best practices, building data lakes, and much more.

Sven Balnojan
Geek Culture
Published in
6 min readFeb 6, 2023

--

Me, involved in more deep reading.

A confession: Most things I read, I only skim over. In fact, on most things, I only read the headline, maybe a few selected sentences, and then discard them altogether.

To me, reading is a means to an end, to acquiring knowledge collected by people much more experienced in their respective fields than I am. People that took the time to distill their years of experience into lessons and opinions I can analyze, understand and use for myself.

And I think you can do this too, to take essential pieces of reading to help you perform better in 2023.

“Today a reader, tomorrow a leader.” — Margaret Fuller

I’ve gone through 60,000 words of newsletters from the Three Data Point Thursday I’ve written this year, selected the top 20 articles, and then again cut them down to the essential 11 articles everyone should read if you read anything at all in 2023.

These articles will help you lead, lead your data team, lead yourself, or lead your data company.

--

--

Sven Balnojan
Geek Culture

Head of Marketing @ Arch | Data PM | “Data Mesh in Action” | Join my free data newsletters at http://thdpth.com/ and https://svenbalnojan.gumroad.com/l/oivjd