Is Google Keep good enough?

Martin McBride
Geek Culture
Published in
5 min readAug 29, 2022

--

It all depends on what you need.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Alongside the three productivity tools I mainly use, I sometimes find it useful to have a simple, visual dashboard of what projects I currently have active.

This helps me ensure that I spend a bit of time on each active project every so often. Or if, as sometimes happens, I decide to pause an active project, I put it to bed in a reasonable way in case I want to pick it up later. This avoids future me deciding to pick up an old forgotten project than realising that I have no idea where I was when I stopped six months ago.

Sometimes that takes the form of a piece of paper that I tend to create once a month. But I would really like to use a digital method. So I gave Google Keep a try, and here is what I found.

This article is not a Google Keep how-to guide, it is just a discussion of what the features are, so you can decide if it is worth trying. If you decide to give it a try, it is quite easy to use.

Google Keep

Google Keep is a Google app that runs in your browser similar to Gmail or Google Docs.

It is basically a page where you can add post-it style notes, with many of the features you might expect from such an app. Like other Google apps, it is free and available on most devices.

--

--