Let’s Go Shopping in the Metaverse!

Cliff Hall
Geek Culture
Published in
5 min readDec 5, 2021

--

A Boson Protocol Launch Day Experience

Which way to the food court?

This is my story about buying a dope-azz, physical hoodie in Decentraland. But first, a short, fun video that conveys the basic premise of Boson Protocol and #dCommerce.

Note, I’m currently working on the project, which has recently launched version 1 of its protocol for enabling robust, blockchain-based commerce. However what follows is an unbiased account of my experience as a user spending real money in the metaverse to purchase a piece of limited edition, fashion clothing.

Let’s Go!

On the Boson Portal site

First thing was to go to http://bosonportal.io and click the button to visit the portal in Decentraland. It took a little while to download the latest version of their app, but soon I was in.

Once there, I connected with my MetaMask and set up a basic azz binch avatar fairly quickly. Finally, I was greeted with the Escher-like…

--

--