“Maker vs Manager Schedule” Is Essential Reading if You’re a Software Developer

Bennett Garner
Geek Culture
Published in
5 min readMar 15, 2021

--

Meetings ruin your productivity. If you’re a developer building complex applications, you should follow the Maker Schedule.

My Big Problem

As a software developer, I hate meetings. If you’ve worked as a developer, you probably understand.

To me, meetings feel frustrating and demoralizing. If I have a meeting scheduled, I often feel like I can’t accomplish my coding goals.

You may have noticed this, too. If you have a meeting at 1pm and another at 3pm, the hour in between the meetings feels unproductive. One hour simply isn’t enough to get complex coding work done.

As a developer, a meeting costs you a lot.

An Important Idea: The Maker Schedule

It wasn’t until I read Paul Graham’s “Maker Schedule, Manager Schedule” that I really grasped the problem. After reading it, I consider that article required reading for all software developers.

--

--

Bennett Garner
Geek Culture

DeveloperPurpose.com — Build a coding career with meaning and purpose 💻 Top writer in technology ✍️