Migrating a website from Jekyll to…

Chris Chinchilla
Geek Culture
Published in
4 min readFeb 11, 2023

--

The old site, which I also never really finished, but there was a lot there!

I have stuffed so much into my website over the years it was starting to creak at the seams. For most of its life, at least the life I can remember, I used Jekyll. When the life of this website began, Jekyll was still fairly new and my mind was blown by static site generators (I probably migrated from Drupal, which was my thing back in the early 2000s). When I reworked it a couple of years ago, I considered other options but ended up settling back to what I already knew well.

In honesty, Jekyll still works fine for my needs, but a combination of Apple Silicon breaking my ageing custom gems and wanting an excuse to try the wave of new “cool” content frameworks, I thought it was time to overhaul.

My requirements

I wanted to keep most of the content I have already, make it more dynamic (more on that next), and add some other content that has been missing from my site for some time.

I was looking for something that let me do the following:

  • Create content types
  • Generate content from different sources, such as markdown files, API endpoints, and JSON files.

The API endpoints especially are what I mean by “dynamic” above. The custom gems I mentioned above would grab latest the content from various places and create stub markdown…

--

--

Chris Chinchilla
Geek Culture

Writer, podcaster, and video maker covering technology, the creative process, board and roleplay game development, fiction, and even more.